packages icon



 weblint 1.020(1L)                Handmade                 weblint 1.020(1L)
                                  August 97



 NAME
      weblint - pick fluff off web pages (HTML)

 SYNOPSIS
      weblint [ -d id ] [ -e id ] [ -f filename ] [ -i ] [ -l ] [ -s ] [ -
      stderr ] [ -t ] [ -todo ] [ -help ] [ -U ] [ -urlget command ] [ -v ] [
      -version ] [ -warnings ] [ -x extension ] file1 .. fileN

 DESCRIPTION
      Weblint is a Perl script which picks fluff off HTML pages.  Files to
      be checked are passed on the command-line:

           % weblint foobar.html ./dodgy-files/ index.html

      If any of the arguments are directories weblint will recurse in the
      directory, and check any HTML files found.  If an argument is a URL,
      then weblint will get the file using a URL retrieval program, and then
      check the file:

           % weblint http://www.foobar.com/

      By default weblint will use lynx to retrieve URLs, but this can be
      over-ridden.  A filename of `-' specifies that weblint should read
      from standard input:

           % lynx -source http://www.foobar.com/ | weblint -

      Warnings are generated a la lint:
           home.html(9): unmatched </A> (no matching <A> seen).

      Weblint includes the following features:

           +   by default checks for HTML 3.2 (Wilbur)

           +   46 different checks and warnings

           +   Warnings can be enabled/disabled individually, as per your
               preference

           +   basic structure and syntax checks

           +   warnings for use of unknown elements and element attributes.

           +   context checks (where a tag must appear within a certain
               element).

           +   overlapped or illegally nested elements.

           +   do IMG elements have ALT text?





                                    - 1 -           Formatted:  July 3, 2022






 weblint 1.020(1L)                Handmade                 weblint 1.020(1L)
                                  August 97



           +   flags obsolete elements.

           +   support for user and site configuration files

           +   stylistic checks

           +   checks for html which is not portable across all browsers

           +   flags markup embedded in comments, since this can confuse
               some browsers

           +   support for Netscape, and Microsoft HTML extensions

 OPTIONS
      -d warning-identifier
           Disable the warning associated with the identifier.  Multiple
           identifiers can be specified, with a comma between identifiers.

      -e warning-identifier
           Enable the warning associated with the identifier.  Multiple
           identifiers can be specified, with a comma between identifiers.

      -f config-file
           Specify a weblint configuration file which should be used in
           place of the user's default config file, or the site
           configuration file.

      -help
           Show a short usage summary.

      -i   Ignore case of element tags.

      -l   When recursing in directories, ignore any files which are
           symlinks (also known as soft links).  This will also cause files
           on the command-line to be ignored if they are symlinks, unless
           only one file is given.

      -pedantic
           Turn on all warnings except the case-sensitive and bad-link
           warnings.

      -s   Generate `short' warning messages, which do not include the
           filename.

      -stderr
           Print warning messages to STDERR rather than STDOUT.

      -t   Enable terse warning mode, which is mainly useful for the weblint
           testsuite.





                                    - 2 -           Formatted:  July 3, 2022






 weblint 1.020(1L)                Handmade                 weblint 1.020(1L)
                                  August 97



      -U   Same as -help.

      -urlget command
           The command which should be used to retrieve HTML pages specified
           by URL.

      -v   Display the version number.

      -version
           Display the version number.

      -todo
           This prints out the URL for the online version of the weblint
           ToDo list.  This includes known bugs, and requested/planned
           features.

      -warnings
           List all supported warnings, with warning identifier, and whether
           the warning is enabled.

      -x extension
           Include checks for the specified HTML extension; multiple
           extensions can be specified, separated with a comma.  Currently
           the only extensions supported are Netscape and Microsoft.  This
           can also be set in your weblint configuration file, described
           below.

 HTML EXTENSIONS
      Unless you specify otherwise, weblint assumes you are using HTML 3.2.
      Weblint supports the Netscape and Microsoft HTML extensions in
      addition.  For example, weblint will complain that the BLINK element
      is not known, unless you enable the Netscape extension.  The following
      extensions are currently supported:

      Netscape
           The HTML extensions supported by the Netscape browser, version 4.

      Microsoft
           The HTML extensions supported by Microsoft Internet Explorer,
           version 4.  To enable an extension, you can either use the -x
           command-line switch:

               % weblint -x Netscape foobar.html

           Or you can use the extension keyword in your .weblintrc:

               # enable the Microsoft extensions
               extension Microsoft






                                    - 3 -           Formatted:  July 3, 2022






 weblint 1.020(1L)                Handmade                 weblint 1.020(1L)
                                  August 97



 CONFIGURATION FILE
      Weblint can be configured using a file .weblintrc in your home
      directory (or a file referenced by the WEBLINTRC environment
      variable).  This file can be used to enable or disable specific
      warnings, set weblint variables, and include HTML extensions, as
      described above.  Each warning has a short identifier string, used to
      refer to the warning in config files, and from the command-line.  For
      example, if you want to enable the check for tags in upper-case, but
      disable the check for obsolete elements, then you would include the
      following lines in your .weblintrc:
           # specify the command used to retrieve URLs (-urlget switch)
           set url-get = lynx -source

           # the style of warning message to generate (lint, short, or terse)
           set message-style = lint

           # enable warning for tags not in upper-case
           enable upper-case

           # disable the warning for obsolete tags
           disable obsolete

           # enable the Netscape HTML extensions
           extension Netscape

           # when recursing in a directory,
           # ignore files which are symlinks (also known as soft links)
           ignore symlinks
      The keywords can be followed by any number of arguments, separated by
      spaces or tabs.  Anything following a `#' is treated as a comment.  A
      sample configuration file is included in the weblint distribution (as
      of version 1.004), which mirrors the configuration built-in to
      weblint.  Weblint also supports a site configuration file.  If a user
      does not have a personal configuration file, then weblint will check
      for a local site configuration file.  To provide such a file, create a
      directory such as /usr/local/weblint, and create a file
      global.weblintrc.  You need to edit the weblint script and modify the
      $SITE_DIR variable, which you will find near the top of the file.  For
      example:

          $SITE_DIR = '/usr/local/weblint';

      At some point in the future there will be configuration support for
      weblint, so you won't have to modify the script directly yourself.  If
      you have a site configuration file, then users can inherit the site
      defaults by adding the following line at the top of their .weblintrc
      file:

          use global weblintrc





                                    - 4 -           Formatted:  July 3, 2022






 weblint 1.020(1L)                Handmade                 weblint 1.020(1L)
                                  August 97



 WARNINGS
      All warnings generated by weblint are listed below, along with the
      associated identifier, and whether the warning is enabled or disabled
      by default.

 TESTSUITE
      A simple regression testsuite is included with weblint, in the Perl
      script test.pl.  You can run the testsuite with either of the
      following commands:
          % make test
          % ./test.pl
      The results are printed to STDERR, with a more complete report
      generated in test.log.  All tests should pass.  If any tests fail,
      please email test.log to the address given in the AUTHOR section
      below.

 ENVIRONMENT VARIABLES
      WEBLINTRC
           If this variable is defined, and references a file, then weblint
           will read the referenced file for the user's configuration,
           rather than $HOME/.weblintrc.

      TMPDIR
           The directory where weblint will create temporary working files.
           Defaults to /usr/tmp.

 FILES
      $HOME/.weblintrc
           The user's configuration file.  See the section `CONFIGURATION
           FILE'.

 SEE ALSO
      perl(1)

 VERSION
      This man page describes weblint 1.020.

 AVAILABILITY
      ftp://ftp.cre.canon.co.uk/pub/weblint/weblint.tar.gz
      http://www.cre.canon.co.uk/~neilb/weblint/

 KNOWN BUGS
      The list of known bugs can be found on the weblint home page:

          http://www.cre.canon.co.uk/~neilb/weblint/todo/

      Certain versions of Perl have bugs which are triggered by weblint.
      You shouldn't experience problems if you have 4.036, or 5.002.

 AUTHOR
      Neil Bowers, Canon Research Centre Europe



                                    - 5 -           Formatted:  July 3, 2022






 weblint 1.020(1L)                Handmade                 weblint 1.020(1L)
                                  August 97



      neilb@cre.canon.co.uk

 CONTRIBUTIONS
      Lots of people have contributed to weblint, in the form of
      suggestions, bug reports, fixes, and contributed code.  Please email
      me if your name should appear in the roll call below.  Abigail
      <abigail@mars.ic.iaf.nl>; Anthony Thyssen <anthony@cit.gu.edu.au>;
      Axel Boldt <axel@uni-paderborn.de>; Barry Bakalor <barry@hal.com>;
      Bill Arnett <billa@netcom.com>; Bob Friesenhahn
      <bfriesen@simple.dallas.tx.us>; Mark Gates <mr-gates@uiuc.edu>; Bruce
      Speyer <bspeyer@texas-one.org>; Chris Siebenmann
      <cks@hawkwind.utcs.toronto.edu>; Clay Webster <clay@unipress.com>;
      Dana Jacobsen <dana@acm.org>; David Begley
      <david@bacall.nepean.uws.edu.au>; David J. MacKenzie
      <djm@va.pubnix.com>; Douglas Brick <dbrick@u.washington.edu>; Gil
      Citro; Eric de Mund <ead@ixian.com>; Richard Finegold
      <goldfndr@eskimo.com>; Joerg Heitkoetter
      <Joerg.Heitkoetter@germany.eu.net>; David Koblas
      <koblas@homepages.com>; John Labovitz <johnl@ora.com>; Eric Maryniak
      <E.Maryniak@rgd.nl>; John F. Whitehead <jfw@wral-tv.com> Juergen
      Schoenwaelder <schoenw@ibr.cs.tu-bs.de>; Frank Steinke
      <fsteinke@zeta.org.au>; Larry Virden <lvirden@cas.org>; Paul Black
      <black@lal.cs.byu.edu>; Doug Grinbergs <dougg@qualcomm.com>; Philip
      Hallstrom <philip@wolfe.net>; Craig Leres <leres@ee.lbl.gov>; Richard
      Lloyd <R.K.Lloyd@csc.liv.ac.uk>; Charles F. Randall
      <crandall@dmacc.cc.ia.us>; Robert Schmunk
      <pcrxs@nasagiss.giss.nasa.gov>; Jeff Schave <schave@engr.wisc.edu>;
      Jon Thackray <jrmt@uk.gdscorp.com>; Jens Thordarson
      <thordurh@rhi.hi.is>; Ryan Waldron <rew@nuance.com>; Thomas Leavitt
      <leavitt@webcom.com>; Tom Neff <tneff@panix.com>; Victor Parada
      <vparada@inf.utfsm.cl>; Erick Branderhorst <branderhorst@fgg.eur.nl>;
      Bryan O'Sullivan <bos@serpentine.com>; Alan J. Flavell
      <FLAVELL@v2.ph.gla.ac.uk>; Raphael Manfredi
      <Raphael_Manfredi@grenoble.hp.com>; Keith Iosso <a-
      keithi@microsoft.com>; Chris Lambert <lambertc@sharelink.com>; Tristan
      Savatier <tristan@creative.net>; Phil Hooper
      <hooper@bcci.eng.sun.com>; Gerald Viers <grviers@csupomona.edu>; Dean
      Brissinger <brissing@bvsd.k12.co.us>; Dave Schmitt
      <dschmi1@gl.umbc.edu>; John Van Essen <vanes002@maroon.tc.umn.edu>;
      Brandon Bell <brandon@arcs.bcit.bc.ca>; Fumio Moriya and Toshiaki
      Nomura <dsfrsoft@oai6.yk.fujitsu.co.jp>; Vincent Lefevre
      <vlefevre@ens-lyon.fr>; Jason Mathews <mathews@nssdc.gsfc.nasa.gov>;
      Lars Balker Rasmussen <lbr@mjolner.dk>; Richard L. Hawes
      <rhawes@dmapub.dma.org>.










                                    - 6 -           Formatted:  July 3, 2022