packages icon

neon is an HTTP and WebDAV client library, with a C language API.

Mailing list: || Web site:

PLEASE NOTE: The neon API is subject to backwards-incompatible change
over minor releases (0.23.x -> 0.24.x) until the 1.0.0 release, but
maintains source and binary backwards compatibility through patch
releases (0.24.0 -> 0.24.7).

Current features:

 - High-level interface to HTTP and WebDAV methods.
 - Low-level interface to HTTP request handling, to allow implementing
   new methods easily.
 - Persistent connection support (HTTP/1.1 and HTTP/1.0 aware)
 - Basic and digest authentication (RFC2617) (including auth-int, md5-sess)
 - Proxy support (including basic/digest authentication)
 - SSL/TLS support using OpenSSL (including client certificate support)
 - Generic WebDAV 207 XML response handling mechanism
 - XML parsing using expat or libxml (1.x or 2.x) parser
 - Easy generation of error messages from 207 error responses
 - Basic HTTP/1.1 methods: GET, PUT, HEAD, OPTIONS, conditional PUT
 - WebDAV resource manipulation: MOVE, COPY, DELETE, MKCOL.
 - WebDAV metadata support: set and remove properties (PROPPATCH), query
   any set of properties (PROPFIND).
 - WebDAV locking support
 - Autoconf macros supplied for easily embedding neon directly inside 
   an application source tree.

Provides lower-level interfaces to directly implement new HTTP
methods, and higher-level interfaces so that you don't have to worry
about the lower-level stuff.

The neon library source code is licensed under the GNU Library GPL;
see src/COPYING.LIB for full details.  The manual and test suite are
licensed under the terms of the GNU GPL; see test/COPYING for terms.
The autoconf macros in the "macros" directory are under a less
restrictive license, see each file for details.

neon is Copyright (C) 1999-2008 Joe Orton <>
Portions are:
Copyright (C) Aleix Conchillo Flaque <>
Copyright (C) Arfrever Frehtes Taifersar Arahesis
Copyright (C) Arun Garg <>
Copyright (C) Daniel Stenberg <>
Copyright (C) Free Software Foundation, Inc.
Copyright (C) Henrik Holst <>
Copyright (C) Jiang Lei <>
Copyright (C) Kai Sommerfeld <>
Copyright (C) Karl Ove Hufthammer.
Copyright (C) Michael Sobolev
Copyright (C) Nobuyuki Tsuchimura <>
Copyright (C) Sylvain Glaize <>
Copyright (C) Thomas Schultz <>
Copyright (C) Vladimir Berezniker @
Copyright (C) Yves Martin  <>